Latest News

November 24, 2015
Two Performances at the Philharmonie Luxembourg

In celebration of the 80th birthday of long-time collaborator Helmut Lachenmann, Pierre-Laurent Aimard performs the concerto Ausklang with the Orchestre Philharmonique Luxembourg on Thursday, November 26 with the composer in attendance. Emilio Pomàrico conducts the program, which also includes Haydn's Symphony No. 94, “Surprise”. Find tickets and more information here.

The following evening, Aimard presents a solo recital featuring Stockhausen’s Klavierstücke XI and IX as well as Boulez’s Piano Sonata No. 3.
Tickets can be found here.

Watch a video here on the music of Helmut Lachenmann, filmed during Aimard's 2013 directorship of the Tanglewood Festival of Contemporary Music.

November 5, 2015
A Beethoven Tour with the Zurich Chamber Orchestra

Pierre-Laurent Aimard travels with the Zurich Chamber Orchestra to four cities in Germany and Switzerland, performing Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3. Principal Conductor Sir Roger Norrington leads stops in Ludwigsburg, Germany on November 14; Zurich on November 17; and Bern on November 18, featuring an all-Beethoven program. Concertmaster Willi Zimmermann leads an additional performance in Basel on November 22.

Aimard presents a full cycle of Beethoven concertos this season as the Wiener Symphoniker’s 2015-16 artist-in-residence. View his 2015-16 schedule here.

October 27, 2015
Aimard Resumes Artist Residency with the Wiener Symphoniker

Returning to the Wiener Symphoniker as this season’s Artist-in-Residence, Aimard continues his Beethoven cycle with the ensemble and Chief Conductor Philippe Jordan, performing Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major on October 29 and 30 at the Wiener Konzerthaus. Rounding out the program are two works by Bartók: Két Portré ("Two Portraits") for violin and orchestra, with Jan Pospichal as soloist, and the Concerto for Orchestra.

Aimard presents a full cycle of Beethoven concertos with Jordan and the Wiener Symphoniker during the course of his residency, appearing at both the Musikverein and Konzerthaus in a collaboration between the two halls. The residency continues in 2016 with Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3 at the Musikverein on January 13, 14 and 15. April 1 and 3 brings the Piano Concerto No. 5 to the Konzerthaus. On April 2, Aimard joins members of the Wiener Symphoniker at the Konzerthaus for chamber works by Carter, Haydn, and Shostakovich. On May 11 and 13, the residency concludes at the Musikverein with Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 2.